Memories, Moments and Imagination

The world through my eyes.

Impressionism – Water Lilies

water lilies

March 2014

As I’m sure, many of you know that Monet had painted a collection of over 250 oil paintings of water lilies.  If you were not aware of the fact that it was that many, you possibly knew that he had painted water lilies. So it seems fitting that, for Impressionism, I would base my work on his Water Lilies. This was my first time using crayons for a high school project. Talk about a throw back! And that no less on a dark bus ride from Montréal!

Overall I’m pretty happy with the way this turned out, because I think it’s a pretty accurate depiction of the funky colours used in Impressionism. However, in retrospect I feel that I could have made the reeds on the sides more prominent. I love the flowers, especially the one in the middle  – cut off by the boards of the bridge. The bridge was an idea that I got from one of my mom’s business acquaintance. They have this golf course, with a pond in the middle, and to get from one hole to the next you have to go over a bridge. Ever since I can remember, that fairy tale bridge was my favourite part of the course. I loved to watch the bugs ‘skitter’ across the water, see the ripples, and put my putter in the water to find out if I could reach all the way to the bottom … let’s call it … China! The lily pads were always another source of fascination for “How can any plant grow in water if most plants can’t have too much water?!?” and “Why does it stop growing right where the water meets the air?!?”. So not only is it in the Impressionist style,6 and based on real paintings of water lilies, but it also encapsulates a lot of personal memories.

Others in the series:

Neoclassism – Girl

Realism – The Ghost of Darwin

Art Nouveau – Initials

Post Impressionism – Picnic

Fauvism – The Green Stripe Extended

5 comments on “Impressionism – Water Lilies

  1. Pingback: Pointillism – Picnic | Memories, Moments and Imagination

  2. Pingback: Fauvism – The Green Stripe Extended | Memories, Moments and Imagination

  3. Pingback: Art Nouveau – Initials | Memories, Moments and Imagination

  4. Pingback: Realism – The Ghost of Darwin | Memories, Moments and Imagination

  5. Pingback: Neoclassicism | Memories, Moments and Imagination

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2014 by in Drawings and tagged , , , , , , , .
