Memories, Moments and Imagination

The world through my eyes.

Art Nouveau – Initials

IMG_1806

February 2014

Art Nouveau is mostly made up of metal work with few straight lines and a whole lot of vines/integrated gardens. For this work I chose to use tin foil to create my initials in the font of the era. Following this I made “vines” with “leaves” at the ends to weave into my work.

I chose to paint the background black because I believe that a different colour, or a multi-coloured background, would have dulled the shiny look of the tinfoil. When building this piece, I had to keep reminding myself to not make the letters too thick because then I would have had the undesired “pipe” effect- the wider areas were the hardest for this. I also learned that normal glue does not attach to the tinfoil the way I was hoping, so I needed to use more than the normal amount and it had to sit flat for a few days. For this reason the vines are pushed into the letters to give them more support, and the parts of the vines not touching the letters is interactive in such a way that they can be repositioned to any desired layout.

Others in the series:

Neoclassism – Girl

Realism – The Ghost of Darwin

Impressionism – Water Lilies

Post Impressionism – Picnic

Fauvism – The Green Stripe Extended

5 comments on “Art Nouveau – Initials

  1. Pingback: Fauvism – The Green Stripe Extended | Memories, Moments and Imagination

  2. Pingback: Pointillism – Picnic | Memories, Moments and Imagination

  3. Pingback: Realism – The Ghost of Darwin | Memories, Moments and Imagination

  4. Pingback: Neoclassicism | Memories, Moments and Imagination

  5. Pingback: Impressionism – Water Lilies | Memories, Moments and Imagination

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 30, 2014 by in Others and tagged , , , , , .
