Memories, Moments and Imagination

The world through my eyes.

Sculpted Hand

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

January 2013

So it has been a while since I posted last but I’m still around! 😉 I chose this piece today because I haven’t done a sculpture in a long time. I guess that you could say that I like making art of my extremities but honestly it’s only because they are always there! As I was sculpting my hand I tried to make the muscles seem life-like and still be able to stand upright.  I had the most difficulty forming the fingers and making each part in proportion to the others. I created this hand in about 75 minutes and one of the cracks is a direct result of the kiln ( what dries the clay), although I’m fortunate that it didn’t simply explode into tiny pieces… The other one happened very much by accident. There isn’t too much to say about this one because it’s fairly straight-forward, so I’ll leave you with the images as ” an image says a thousand words”… 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 8, 2013 by in Sculpture and tagged , , .
