Memories, Moments and Imagination

The world through my eyes.

The Solemn Land ~ J.E.H. Macdonald

Image
November 2011

Once more a different medium… My rendition of J.E.H. Macdonald’s “The Solemn Land”. This was one of those pieces that just took forever to create. The colours are so abstract and abnormal that it took my realistic brain a lot to let go of reason. The clouds for example are made up of every colour imaginable. Just like the water. Yet that is exactly what I appreciate about The Group of Seven. This painting made me into a more open artist, I had to realize that the world isn’t what we always see as there are so many different colours in something that we typically see as a solid colour. I now look for these “hidden” colours.

Besides this colour roadblock, the rolling hills and sheer cliffs brought a different kind of challenge to my painting, definition and depth. Each distinct level of hill needed a different form and its own painting style… I greatly enjoyed the learning curve that this piece provided and I hope to do more “Group of Seven” pieces in the future.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 7, 2013 by in Paintings and tagged , , , , .
