Memories, Moments and Imagination

The world through my eyes.

Sculpted Alligator Canopic Jar.

Sculpted Alligator Canopic Jar.
December 2011

Why choose an alligator? What made me pick an animal that I’ve never seen in real life (except in a zoo) over a dog or a cat or even a snake? The answer is a simple one. A challenge. I love to take things that seem impossible or at least difficult and work on them until I’m satisfied. This was the first time that I got to work with clay and I loved it!!! I loved the way the clay can be molded into anything. I delighted in the fact that I didn’t have to worry about eraser marks or smudges, the wrong colour or an irreparable mistake.

Some major challenges I faced were: attaching the teeth, tail and spikes, making the eyes the same size and glazing in colours that I wasn’t exactly sure how they would look like on the finished product. In sculptures, a possible set back is the constant attention that needs to be kept to the thickness of the clay. If it’s too thick, it might explode when it’s being heated and if it’s too thin then it would be more likely to break during everyday use. The glazes used were a duller version of how it would end up, they were often capable of being confused with one another so extra precaution was needed.

On the front, in the green area surrounded by a brown border I spelt “Juliana” in Egyptian hieroglyphics because Canopic jars were originally used to hold the internal organs of kings that were being mummified. The labels on the front named the Pharaoh so the vital organs could be kept safe in the afterlife.

I love how it turned out and I hope you do too!!!

If you have any questions or comments feel free to express them down below!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 1, 2013 by in Sculpture and tagged , , , .
